good music? A troubadour will set the mood.

2007-08-18


The first night out – experiencing real norwegian night life beside the students party house.
The pubcrawl. I cancelled the vorspiel tonight for it has nothing to do with women and I expected enough beer awaiting for me on this trip to Gjoviks public bars, pubs and discotheques.
Starting around 11pm Oliver and I went to the one and only irish pub in town where the other international buddies and some norwegian students guidiing these were supposed to be.
The security staff controlling the entrance wouldn't let me enter the bar. He claimed I had nothing to identify e.g. passport, driver's license, whatever. So he refused to believe I'm over 18y old. Bah!

I wasn't too unlucky cause I found a girl who gave me some sort of elastic band that granted me free access to locations. But I had to move on to the next club where no security guy knew me.

Old-fashioned disgusting electronic music.

Damn. Worst case scenario. Just one beer and worst music ever.
Get your impression:

electronic music club at its worst.

We left after one beer and 40 minutes.
Next to come was another try at the irish pub. That entry band worked well.
Finally we found a spot to stay. Nice atmosphere, more than 2 sorts of beer to offer. Affordable prices and: rock music.
As I got in the DJ had deftones runnin'. Perfect start.
Some nice ladies, nice beer, nice atmosphere.

The troubadour knew how to set the mood:

Always remember: the troubadour will set the mood.

Unique freak.

But norwegians in Gjovik seem to be brave people fighting for their everyday life cause the pub was closed at 2:30am. Can't be? It is.
This law set up by the local government ensure that everyone either is able to go to work or to school or whatever. No matter how drunk you are, you'll be able to be back on track the next morning.

My conclusion is: most of the norwegian people have a disturbed relation to alcohol at all! They want it, they need it, they don't wanna pay too much for it (remember: average beer at bar 8 €). And the government supports that strong addiction by these extraordinary high taxes.

So they buy in Sweden.
The Swedish buy in Germany.

Good old beer Germany. And the troubadour will return.

Erasmus in Norway. Gjovik University College

Thoughts on my study abroad semester in Gjovik, Norway.

Alex' music-o-matic


Recent comments

jahre später... ;)
schrägerweise über google hier her gekommen :P ich...
Franzi (guest) - 2012-01-17 01:11
von Blogger zu Blogger
Würdest Du mir ein Interview geben? Ich schreibe unter...
ChristopherAG - 2011-05-05 01:00
...
Indeed, you shouldn't miss it!
sophistic - 2010-04-18 13:34
Wow-Trip
wooow, its a really interesting trip :) i hope i would...
Kostenlose Spiele spielen (guest) - 2010-04-17 16:29
Hi.. I'm looking for...
Hi.. I'm looking for a tattoo that illustrates my Norwegian...
Shannon (guest) - 2009-11-23 04:51

Archive

August 2007
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
 9 
10
11
12
13
14
15
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
 
 

Status

Online for 6104 days
Last update: 2012-01-17 01:11

journey begins.
nightlife in Gjovik.
norwegian culture & more.
sphere
the vorspiel.
with full force
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog