firefighters fighting fire?

2007 - 09 - 06

A casual Sat eve, preparing to go out. Suddenly my door bell rang.
But not only mine. And not only once.
I first suspected some kids or whoever having fun ringing my doorbell of the wall.

As I went out to check what was going, I noticed that EVERY f***in doorbell in every single of the 20 rooms on my floor AND on all the other six floors was ringing.
I never would have thought of a fire alarm.
It wasn't 'feeling' like one. And not sounding like one at all.
However, I just grabbed some stuff, after putting on all my clothes, and went down to floor one. Where all other students were already waiting, but no firefighters.
Hm.
It looked like some took the alarm pretty serious since they didn't put on any clothes except for their underwear and maybe a pyjama. Alas, not the ones I'd loved to see.

Some fifteen minutes later the firefighters arrived. The doorbells kept on ringing, driving me deaf and numb.
They didn't know wha to do!
Obviously there wasn't fire going on anywhere.

As you can see on the pic below, three of them (there were only three at all. Isn't that a bit ridiculous considering a burning student house with app.110 students, visitors and friends excluded?) tried to get the main alarm control working.

firefighters fighting a virtual fire

And notice that guy right of them, checking his mail and not caring bout anything, as it seems.

After some more twenty minutes they finally got it shut down. What a relieving feeling.
From that day I don't trust in these firefighters anymore.

And: Some days later a company started installing NEW fire alarms in every room. Kept me from getting up after 8am. Though I didn't stop staying awake til 6 for known reasons...

Erasmus in Norway. Gjovik University College

Thoughts on my study abroad semester in Gjovik, Norway.

Alex' music-o-matic


Recent comments

jahre später... ;)
schrägerweise über google hier her gekommen :P ich...
Franzi (guest) - 2012-01-17 01:11
von Blogger zu Blogger
Würdest Du mir ein Interview geben? Ich schreibe unter...
ChristopherAG - 2011-05-05 01:00
...
Indeed, you shouldn't miss it!
sophistic - 2010-04-18 13:34
Wow-Trip
wooow, its a really interesting trip :) i hope i would...
Kostenlose Spiele spielen (guest) - 2010-04-17 16:29
Hi.. I'm looking for...
Hi.. I'm looking for a tattoo that illustrates my Norwegian...
Shannon (guest) - 2009-11-23 04:51

Archive

September 2007
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 
 
 
 
 1 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
 9 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
25
26
27
28
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Status

Online for 6104 days
Last update: 2012-01-17 01:11

journey begins.
nightlife in Gjovik.
norwegian culture & more.
sphere
the vorspiel.
with full force
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog